Mwonzora duly elected says legal expert

Political Reporter

Constitutional law expert Professor Lovemore Madhuku says Douglas Mwonzora is the duly elected president of the MDC-T and only a competent court can declare his election as null and void.
In a letter to the Standing Committee of the MDC-T, in his capacity as head of the legal team that has been representing the MDC-T in various court cases, Prof Madhuku said the election that elevated Mr Mwonzora to the position of president, has some validity in that the polls had not been stopped.
His opinion follows the chaos that ensued at the MDC extraordinary elections at the weekend. The chaos and confusion saw then acting President Dr Thokozani Khupe suspending Mwonzora.
“The presumption of validity means that unless set aside by a competent court, Douglas Mwonzora is duly elected as President,” he said.
Prof Madhuku said notwithstanding the declaration by an independent electoral body that Mr Mwonzora had been duly elected, some members of the National Council met on 28 December and confirmed that the congress had been cancelled by Dr Khupe and that Dr Khupe had remained Acting President and that Mr Mwonzora had been suspended.

MEANWHILE Following his election as substantive President at the Extra-ordinary congress held in Harare over the weekend, Douglas Mwonzora has named a new look National Standing Committee which includes his fellow contestants Thokozani Khupe, Morgan Komichi and Elias Mudzuri.

Below is the new standing Committee which he said will be subjected to a standing Committee ratification.

President- Douglas Mwonzora

1st Vice President- Thokozani Khupe

2nd Vice President- Engineer Elias Mudzuri

National Chairperson- Morgan Komichi

Vice Chairperson- Giles Mutsekwa

Secretary General-Paurina Mupariwa

National Organising Secretary- Gift Chimanikire

Deputy Organising Secretary- Raino Mashaya

Secretary for mobilisation- Tangwara

Sec for Info and Publicity- Witness Dube

Deputy Info and Publicity- Khalipani Phugeni

Sec for elections- Gandhi Mudzingwa

Sec for Security- Shakespear Mukoyi

Sec for International Relations- Happyson Makuvise

Sec for Policy and Research- Dr Samuel Banda

Youth Assembly Chairperson- Yvonne Musarurwa

Chairlady for Women Assembly- Dorothy Bhebhe
Sec for local government- Blessing Chebundo
Sec for peace, reconciliation- Senator Morgan Femai
Treasurer General- Dr Tapiwa Mashakada

Deputy Treasurer Chief Ndhlovu

Sec Agriculture and Food Security- Masimba Ruzvidzo

Sec for Justice- Hon Brian Dube

Sec for Home Affairs- Mukombwe Dube

Sec for Industry and Commerce- Fanuel Gukwe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *